What a mad couple of days

Well as many of you already know Darcey and I  have spent two days filming a documentary with a BBC crew.

Monday was interview day. Firstly just myself talking to Sue Bourne about why I find motherhood lonely, how I overcome being lonely and what Darcey and I do with our days whilst the big kids are at school and him indoors at work.

The crew (Sue, Dan and Mark) arrived at 11am to my house. Thank god I had blitzed it. 😁
They set up the camera, lights and mics in the kitchen.
We started by recording the interview,  which felt so strange I kept giggling with my answers.  (There were some 2nd takes)
Then the one question came that turned me to tears “tell me about your parents”
For those that don’t know my parents live on a Greek island and we very rarely get to see each other. And they are another reason I post SO many pictures and videos of the children  for them to see. I am happy to admit ‘I miss my parents!’

Once the interview was over I had to sit and have different shots of my face, some close up 😮 some a little further away! Phew. ..

We broke for lunch and then I introduced the crew to Darcey! Luckily she had had a great morning with friends and was on top form.
We set up some toys and her ball pool in the garden.
However trying to get her to sit or stand still is the hardest job in the world.
What’s the famous saying in the television industry?
Don’t work with animals or children.  Hahaha
Darcey kept walking out of shot, walking directly up to the camera or just sitting there say “who’s that?” Whilst pointing at the camera man (Dan)

image
Cooling off after our stint in the heat

After a few takes we went indoors to sit on the sofa and film Darcey and I doing our ‘normal’ day to day things. Her climbing everywhere and me with my phone in hand on social media.  😂😂

Darcey then needed sleep desperately however them filming me trying to cradle her to sleep wasn’t going to happen so I got her to sleep and we carried on filming me on my phone.

image

image

The last part of the day was to film Darcey and I out the front of our house. You have to love those neighbours that pull funny faces at you from across the road trying to put you off (no names mentioned Mrs Sutton )

Day one was over and we were exhausted.

Day two was the filming of the buggy walk and filming in a supermarket.

Could we have asked for stronger sunshine and a hotter day to film outside with 13 mums/dad and all the babies?  Wow I’ve never wanted to see shade as much as I did yesterday.
We walked across ingrebourne hill park towards Albyns Farm lake to feed the ducks.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Everything went very well and I can’t not thank you enough everyone that came yesterday or sent messages of support online.
Once the walk was over and we headed to Asda for an afternoon of filming there. As I’m sure, I can’t be the only mum that makes up excuses to go to the supermarket when I’m feeling alone and finds myself in the supermarket in the hope you might bump into a friend for coffee?

image

image

image

image

image

We did lots of filming in Asda. I could feel people looking at me wondering who on earth I was and if I’m that one of the telly?
No sorry to disappoint but it just me, no one special, just a mum wanting to be heard and hoping our message gets across.

Being a stay at home mum can be lonely for some mum’s,  so bare this in mind if you know a new mum that you feel may need a coffee or a chat. You could be saving her from her own voice.

#alifelesslonely should be aired later in the year on the BBC
And  sure I will tell you all when it’s on if you want to watch of course. :D:D
 

